

Finance Committee Meeting Minutes

Lee County, Illinois Jan 13, 2022 at 9:00 AM CST Old Lee County Courthouse, Third Floor Boardroom, 112 E 2nd Street, Dixon, IL 61021

- I. Call to Order Meeting called to order by Tom Kitson at 9:00 a.m.
- II. Committee Member Roll Call: **Present:** Chair Jim Schielein **(Zoom)**, Tom Kitson, Lirim Mimini, Doug Farster, and Rick Humphrey. **Absent:** Vice Chair Arlan McClain.
- III. Meeting Attendees and Visitors

Board Members, Department Heads, Employees, and Visitors present in person: John Nicholson (County Board Vice Chair), Marilyn Shippert, Mike Koppien, and Dave Bally (Board Members), Charley Boonstra (State's Attorney), Wendy Ryerson (Administrator), Paula Meyer (Treasurer), Dave Anderson (County Engineer/Highway/Solid Waste), Paul Gorski (IT Administrator), Nancy Petersen (County Clerk), and Becky Brenner (Board Secretary). John Simonton (Sheriff), Staci Stewart (Probation), and Amy Johnson (Circuit Clerk) attended via Zoom video conferencing. Visitors: Kevin Larson, Michael Selover, and Jon Mandrell from Sauk Valley Community College.

IV. Approval of the Minutes from the Previous Meeting(s)

The December 16, 2021, Finance Committee meeting minutes were approved without modification.

V. Treasurer's Monthly Financial Report

Paula Meyer reported that the committee had the financial reports through the end of November 2021, on their iPads. The County had a surplus at the end of 2021, of roughly \$2.6 million which is being transferred to the capital fund which in turn zeros out the general fund. Also included in the financials was the summary of revenues report which showed an increase in almost every category.

VI. Treasurer's Quarter Financial Report – Presented every January-April-July-October

Motion: To approve the Treasurer's quarterly report. **Moved** by Doug Farster. **Second** by Lirim Mimini. Motion carried unanimously by voice vote.

VII. Insurance Committee and GREDCO Reports: No report updates for January. VIII. Approval of Monthly Resolution(s): One (1) Joseph Meyer Resolution

Motion: To approve and move the one (1) Joseph Meyer Resolution to the Executive Committee. **Moved** by Lirim Mimini. **Second** by Doug Farster. Motion carried unanimously by voice vote.

- IX. Old Business
 - A. Boardroom technology upgrades update

Wendy Ryerson reported that the audio video upgrades took a back seat to the IT Services RFP that was posted in December. She explained that she is expecting the RFP for the audio video upgrades to be posted in February.

B. Resolution: Compensation for Elected Officials and County Board Members

Tom Kitson explained that the Resolution: Compensation for Elected Officials and County Board Members item on the agenda was tabled in the January 10, 2022, Administrative Services Committee, so there was no discussion on the topic.

- X. New Business
 - A. IT Services Bid Approval

Paul Gorski walked the committee through his report posted above, recommending that the committee accept the Syndeo RFP. The committee had a very lengthy discussion regarding this topic. Concerns regarding future budget implications and costs were voiced.

Motion: To send the IT Services Bid for Syndeo Networks Inc. to the Executive Committee. **Moved** by Jim Schielein. **Second** by Lirim Mimini. Following a lengthy discussion, Jim Schielein called for the question. **Roll call:** Rick Humphrey - No, Lirim Mimini - Yes, Doug Farster - No, Tom Kitson - Yes, Jim Schielein - Yes. Motion passes 3 Yes - 2 No.

- B. ARPA Committee Recommendations
 - 1. Sauk Valley Community College Agricultural Program \$100,000
 - 2. Lee County Tourism Council \$22,000
 - 3. Lee County Businesses Food Permit Fees \$60,000/year for 2 years

Motion: To approve and move to the Executive Committee: the Sauk Valley Community College Agricultural Program request for \$100,000, the Lee County Tourism Council Request for \$22,000, and the Lee County Business - Food Permit Fees - for \$60,000 per year for 2 years request, from the American Rescue Plan Act funds. **Moved** by Lirim Mimini. **Second** by Doug Farster. Motion carried unanimously by voice vote.

The gentlemen from Sauk Valley Community College expressed their gratitude for the opportunity through the ARPA funds to build out their program with new technological advances and better serve the community.

C. Stipends / bonus criteria

The Sheriff asked that this item be pushed to the February meeting.

D. Tourism Administrative Fees Refund

Tom Kitson explained that last year the County forgave the Tourism Administrative fees to ease the effects of Covid. The suggestion was made during the ARPA Committee meeting that the same should happen in 2022. The amount is roughly \$150 - \$200 per month.

Motion: To forgive the Tourism Administrative Fee for the 2022 fiscal year. **Moved** by Rick Humphrey. **Second** by Doug Farster. Motion carried unanimously by voice vote.

E. Wages for Zoning Board of Appeals

Tom Kitson initiated the discussion to promote an increase in the per diem amount for the Zoning Board of Appeals from \$60 per meeting to \$80 per meeting due to the volume of meetings the members are required to attend and the research that is required for the hearings. Increasing the per diem for all Board Members was suggested also.

Motion: To send the increase in per diem for Board Members and ZBA Members to the Administrative Services Committee for discussion and review. **Moved** by Rick Humphrey. **Second** by Jim Schielein. Motion carried 4 yes - 1 no (Lirim Mimini).

F. Review of Design Plans for Zoning Planned Unit Development (PUD) Discussion

This item was being reviewed in in Properties. There was no action or discussion by the committee.

- XI. Executive Session
 - A. Open Meetings Act: 5 ILCS 120/2 (c)(2) Collective Negotiation Matters and 5 ILCS 120/2 (c)(8)

Motion: To enter into Executive Session at 9:48 a.m. Moved by Rick Humphrey. Second by Doug Farster. Roll call vote: Jim Schielein (Zoom), Tom Kitson, Rick Humphrey, Doug Farster, and Lirim Mimini.

Also present: Bob Olson, Mike Koppien, Marilyn Shippert, Dave Bally, John Nicholson, Chris Norberg, Charley Boonstra, Wendy Ryerson, Paula Meyer, Nancy Petersen, and Becky Brenner.

Roll call back in open session at 10:04 a.m.: Tom Kitson, Rick Humphrey, Doug Farster, and Lirim Mimini.

Also present: Bob Olson, Mike Koppien, Marilyn Shippert, Dave Bally, John Nicholson, Chris Norberg, Charley Boonstra, Wendy Ryerson, Paula Meyer, Nancy Petersen, and Becky Brenner.

XII. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn: **Moved** by Rick Humphrey. **Second** by Doug Farster. Motion carried unanimously by voice vote.

Meeting adjourned at 10:06 a.m.

The next meeting of the Finance Committee will be 9:00 a.m., on Thursday, February 17, 2022.